Burning Restrictions


Fire Hazard Season: From Oct. 1 - Dec. 15 and from Feb. 15 - Apr. 30, burning within 150 feet of any wood- land area is allowed only between 6 p.m. & 6 a.m.

“Non-Attainment” Counties:  From May-September, open burning is further restricted in the following counties:      Boone,   Boyd,   Bullitt,   Campbell,   Jefferson, Kenton, Lawrence, & Oldham.   These counties were previously designated “non-attainment” for ozone and/ or particulate matter because their pollution levels exceeded those permitted by the Clean Air Act.

Click here for a copy of the Open Burn Brochure